MIRT: Users guide

MIRT stands for "Multiple Image Resizing Tool"


MIRT (Multiple Image Resizing Tool) Icon

Table of contents


Resizing

MIRT resizing progress section

The current source filename is displayed above the progress bar.

The resized filename is displayed below the progress bar when it is finished resizing.

MIRT becomes mostly inactive while resizing files. You may "Stop" processing, but MIRT will not be able to continue from the point it was stopped.


Adding Multiple Files

MIRT with some files selected

Open the file select dialog by clicking the "Add Files..." button. Multiple files may be selected in the dialog.

Using this method will disable the ability to add a directory.

Empty the source list using the "Clear" button. Remove individual files in the source list by selecting them and using the "Remove Files" button, multiple files may be selected.


Adding a Single Directory

MIRT with one directory recursively scanned

To add a directory click on the "One Directory" button and select a directory from the dialog. All recognized image files are added to the source file list. If the "Recursive directories" checkbox is selected then all subdirectories will be scanned for images.

MIRT handles the selecting of a directory of files differently than individually selecting multiple files. One of MIRT's features is to rebuild the directory structure of the source files if the Single Directory method is used. Since individually selected files can range all across a file system, rebuilding the directory structure is difficult and would probably be more of a nuisance than a feature.

Adding files using the "One Directory" method will lock the source file list. This is to prevent any problems with rebuilding the directory tree when resizing. Rebuilding the directory is only available with files selected with the "One Directory" method as a list of files prepared with the Multiple Files method may be scattered all over the filesystem, this can easily lead to undesirable results.

The source file list may be emptied with the "Clear" button.


Dragging and Dropping Files/Folders

Files or folders can be drag-and-dropped from a file explorer window, or the desktop, right onto MIRT.

Dropping a selection of files, a selection of folders, or a selection of both files and folders onto MIRT is the same as adding multiple files.

Dropping a single folder onto MIRT is the same as adding a single directory.


Output File Info

MIRT file info section

The File Info section is where changes to images, their filenames, and the output location is specified.

Text in the Prefix field will be added to the beginning of each filename after it is resized. The Suffix is added to the end of the base filename, before the extension. An example of the output filename is visible to the right of these fields.

Choose an output directory with the Directory field. This can be manually typed in or the "..." button to the right can be used to browse for a location.

"Preserve filetype" will instruct MIRT to scale images and keep the same image filetype as the original file.

"Enforce filetype" will convert the file scaled file to the chosen filetype.

Select "Overwrite" to write over any files if they already exist in the output location. By default MIRT does not attempt to resize an image if it sees a file with the same output filename as it would create, it does this to increase the speed of processing.


Sizing

MIRT resizing area

Select "Dimensions" to scale images with the Width and Height values. Images will be scaled so that the resized image's width is not greater than the Width, and height is not greater than Height. With a source image that is 1600x1200, Width set to 800 and Height set to 300, the resultant image will be scaled down to 400x300.

Select "Scale" to resize images to a ratio of (1/scale value). If a source image is 1600x1200, and the Scale is set to 2, the resultant image will be 800x600. Only integer values for the scale may be used, decimal values get ignored and the scale defaults to 1/1.


Compression

MIRT compression area

JPEG compression settings may be set to retain the original image's values, or overridden with a value selected from the "..." (Compression Settings) dialog button.

Setting a JPEG compression when forcing the filetype to JPEG will affect the results of files converted from other formats.


Compression Settings

Compression settings form

The JPEG compression settings are shown when clicking on the button next to "Use compression settings" on the main form.

The default compression value is set to 80%, the higher the percentage value the less compression there will be.

Move the slide scale to the left to increase the level of compression, and decrease the resized image quality.

Move the slide scale to the right to decrease the level of compression, and increase the quality of the resized image.

Using compression values to the left of the scale usually makes for smaller filesizes, but details in the image may be lost.

Explore

Subscribe

RSS iconSite-wide RSS

RSS iconPersonal blog

RSS iconWebsite posts

RSS iconTransportation posts

Contact

teeheehee on Twitter@teeheehee@teeheehee at GMail

Follow me on App.net